clearing former timberland

/ clearing former timberland #1  

lewishope

Tractor
farmtrac 360DTC
I want to clear some land that previously logged. It is "clear" already for the most part. The trees are gone, it's got lots of heavy grass and briars. But it's heavily rutted (lots of deep ruts) from being logged. It also has lots of buried stumps, branches and logs, just under the surface.

I'm a tractor newbie. I have a 39hp 4x4 Farmtrac with FEL. I have a box blade, Bushhog, rear blade, and a tiller. I would like to till the area first to make it easy to smmoth outthe ruts with the BB. But I'm afraid I'll damage the tiller on a stump. You can't see the stumps, logs etc. at all because of the grass and briars. But I'm not real keen on just bushhogging right now either.

What would you recommend? Could I use a middle buster or something to pop up the logs that are just under/over the surface? :confused: Then come back with the BH and then tiller. Finish with the BB.

I don't mind buying a middle buster if I need it. But I don't want to find out the hard way that I don't.

Any advice and ideas are greatly appreciated.:confused:

/ clearing former timberland #2  
Depending on the size of stumps and debri you may want to consider a dozer with a root rake on the blade as being the fastest and most convienient way to get your land ready for working.:D

/ clearing former timberland #3  
I think Egon has it right about the dozer. If it was logged the stumps are going to be too big to “pop” out with a tractor and without them out it will be years before tilling, plowing or disking will be possible from my experience.

MarkV

/ clearing former timberland #4  
Get the dozer to do the heavy work and save your tractor for the finishing touches. Why beat up on your tractor. What a dozer will do in days it will take you months.

/ clearing former timberland #5  
will agree with the others , get a dozer or rent one for a few days.

/ clearing former timberland #6