Getting High Torques Right

/ Getting High Torques Right #1  

Newland

I have very little mechanical experience but now that I own a tractor, I want to learn enough to properly maintain it. The first thing I read about my rotary cutter was the blade bolts should be torqued to 300 ft pounds and there are other bolts at 400 foot pounds. I'm guessing an air driven impact wrench can take the nuts off but how do you accurately get the torque back where its supposed to be when you put the nuts back on. The impact wrenches I saw had no calibrated torque settings and the torque wrenches I've seen with the torque needle don't go up that high. What should be used and where do you get it.

Also can anyone recommend a good book relative to tractor maintenance that would cover the sort of thing that any 12 year old who grew up on a farm would know.

Thanks,
Newland

/ Getting High Torques Right #2  
Look for a torque multiplier on Ebay. They're made in different ratio. You'd use one of those in conjunction with a lower rated torque wrench.

For example, using a torque wrench rated at 100 ftlbs. driving a torque multiplier geared for 1:4 would give you 400 ftlbs output. A torque multiplier will also remove fittings that an air wrench won't budge.

/ Getting High Torques Right #3  
Look for a torque multiplier on Ebay.

You'll probably want to find a length of pipe that fits the handle of your torque wrench too. 400 Ft Lbs, even with a torque multiplier, is going to be a tough pull. You'll need leverage (when I weighed about 150 lbs, I could dern near do chin ups on a torque wrench set for 300 ft lbs.).
Please make sure your cutter cannot move when you're doing this task. It's gonna want to rotate in the direction you're torquing.

/ Getting High Torques Right #4  
With a torque multiplier you only "pull" the amount of torque produced by the torque wrench not the multiplier. So to produce the 400 foot pounds in the above example you only need to pull the 100 foot pounds.
Bill