Michelxb

Tractor
International B414
Hello

I am restoring an Inter B414. (1964)
Near all wire are disconnected.

The wire between glow plugs are all "hand made with wire"
There is no glow plug switch.
Glow plug "light" and glow plugs are new.

Since the voltage for the glow plug must be 0.9 volt ( It is written on the glow plug), how and where the voltage pass from 12 v to 0.9 volt?
A 12 volts will burn the glow plug indicator (light) or even the glow plug.

In the glow plug switch?
By a special wire between glow plugs witch would drop the voltage?
It is not easy (until now) for me to find parts for the B414.

I am new in diesel things and would appreciate any help.

Thanks

/ Voltage reducer for Glow plug? #2  
I think you may be misreading or misunderstanding the glow pluig spec you are reading.

.9v wouldn't produce significant wattage for the purpose of a glow plug. it's an incandescent heating element... jigh current, low duty cycle. if the machine was originally 12v.. I doubt there is much fuss you need to make as long as the wireing is sufficient gauge.

soundguy

/ Voltage reducer for Glow plug?
I think the same as you but.... 12 volt blow the plug and also the "light" incadescent r駸istor on the panel!

/ Voltage reducer for Glow plug? #4  
.9 volt seems odd. take one of the plugs and hook it to a AAA battery I doubt you will get much heat. Glow plugs take juice to create heat.

Maybe .9k as in resistance of the plug.

What do you mean by they keep blowing? Are they burning the tips off?

/ Voltage reducer for Glow plug? #5  
Do your plugs look like this:

http://img.eautopartscatalog.com/live/W01331632205BOS.JPG

Loop plugs are typically either 1.2V or .9V and must be wired in series. These plugs were very common in Mercedes diesels up to 1979 when they changed over to 12V parallel pencil plugs.

http://img.eautopartscatalog.com/live/W01331632882BOS.JPG