To Weld or Not to Weld ???

/ To Weld or Not to Weld ??? #1  

tc35dforme

Platinum Member
Tractor
TC35D/16LA
Okay folks...I'm thinking of a small wire feed welder. I'm no pro, but I feel that with a few tons of srap steel, I'll get the hang of it.

What I'm hoping to do is some light fabrication using angle and tube with nothing thicker than 3/8" ( sch 40 pipe ). Mostly just a hobby thing I guess.

Will a small wire feed ( < $ 400, 80 amp ) do the job. I have no preference for voltage 120-240. My freind says by an AC stick and go with that.

Thoughts, recommendations....maybe I'll stick to wood ?!

/ To Weld or Not to Weld ??? #2  
There have been many threads on this subject. Wroughtn Harv has done a number of explanations that are very good along with many others. I understand that Muhammad may start a thread on this subject to keep information on welding in one area.
PJ

/ To Weld or Not to Weld ??? #3  
I got a Hobart wire feed mig welder and have been very happy with it. I haven't used the gas for real mig welding and instead just use it as a wire welder, but it still works well for my needs, which are similar to what you describe. It runs off 120V which I find convenient. It cost about $475 as I recall.

/ To Weld or Not to Weld ??? #4  
3/8" steel with a small wire feed is awfully risky.
Not enough heat to get the penetration you need in steel this thick. Even with multiple passes to make it "look" good the weld will have little strength.
Go with the stick welder unless you are looking at at least 200 amps in the wire feed. Also the gas will be needed for this steel.

Just my humble but well thought out opinion of course,
Bill

/ To Weld or Not to Weld ??? #5  
I have a Miller 90 amp and have had no trouble up to 1/4". I use the gas all the time.

Eugene

/ To Weld or Not to Weld ??? #6