Case 580k Power shuttle transmission issue

/ Case 580k Power shuttle transmission issue #1  

Delldude

I have a 1989 Case 580K with Power shuttle transmission. Can work all day in 1 or 2nd gear but if I need to go 1 mile and try to use 3rd or 4th gear the machine takes off fine then after 5o to 60 yard starts to slow without loss of RPM's and then when you let off power you hear slipping. This is the only time you even will hear slipping. I am thinking it is the charge pump not keeping the pressure up in the higher gears only. I have check fuild level full. And I have changed fulid and clean the filter in bottom of transmission pan witch was clear. some say change all if I am going to tackle it. Converter,charge pump, and rebuild clutches,and o rings. Rebuild here run about 2000 with converter and then charger pump another 400 but I dont use this for a living so funds are tight.Anyone had this issue?:confused: machine has around 4000 hours engine runs great and I have been using machine like this for 3 years. I just dont used 3rd or 4th. But I really need to be able to used 3rd and 4th so I can store machine at my friends while I use it at my other land.

/ Case 580k Power shuttle transmission issue #2  
G'day i think you are up for a trans rebuild if the charge pump was bad then you would be slipping in 1st & 2nd gears as well you should be able to check the charge press at the test port not sure where it is on your model but i am sure that some one would be able to help you with location and press required. Good luck with it may be worthwhile finding out the parts prices and tackling it yourself :D:D

Jon

/ Case 580k Power shuttle transmission issue #3