Funky Fuel Filter

/ Funky Fuel Filter #1  

Richard

Elite Member
Tractor
International 1066 Full sized JCB Loader/Backhoe and a John Deere 430 to mow with
I’m not a mechanical genius, nor am I a mechanical dunce. All I could do here was laugh at myself.

The starter on Brutus conked out, needed new solenoid. I spent 2 hours trying to get the goober out. To get to the far bolt, I had maybe 3 inches of room to turn a wrench, so I was turning the nut a tiny bit at a time. BUT, to do this, I had to remove the fuel filter which was directly overhead of the offending nut. Since the fuel filter was directly overhead, I had a constant drip of diesel on my hands as I was removing the starter /w3tcompact/icons/hmm.gif

I took the fuel filter off and figured, since I was so close, I’ll just replace it with a new one and make it all snappy clean. (I also discovered why they invented sediment bowls). Anyway, starter off and fixed.. went back to put back together and wa-la.. I was ready for a 2 hour fight to install starter and it went back together in about 20 minutes, just “clicked” into place where I spent 2 hours wrestling it out the other day. I was happy as a bug, now just tighten all down, re-wire and put new filter back together and I’m done...

Wrong.

The new filter (which was the SAME EXACT number as the old filter) would not fit. What’s up? Upshot and butchering some terminology.. the “outlet” hole on the new filter was say, 1 inch in diameter but the outlet hold on the OLD filter was maybe 3 inches. When I put the new one on, there is a metal “ring” above it, that hits and clashes with the smaller diameter hole. Yesterday I went to SEVEN different places to see if anyone had the “right” filter (dealer is hour away in other direction). All came down to “this” filter and I was dumbfounded. They even made comments on how common this filter is.