Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tractor
    NH TN55

Default battery charger?

I plan to purchase a battery charger for farm use. Wal-Mart has a 100/10(or 15?)/2 amp charger from Ever Start for $65.
    Does anyone have any experience with this brand?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Epic Contributor
    R.I.P.
    Tractor
    NHTC45D, NH LB75B, Ford Jubilee

Default Re: battery charger?

I've been using a charger like that for almost 10 years with no problems at all. It only charges 12 volt batteries (Some have a switch for 6 volts). When you are doing a fast charge, the charger will cycle off and on, so don't think it is broken when it goes off. That is normal operation. I don't think I paid $65 for mine, but 10 years ago, everything was cheaper.[img]/w3tcompact/icons/smile.gif[/img]

Tractor
    NH TN55

Jim,

Thanks for the info. Am I correct that I would need the 100 amp capacity for starting a diesel? I saw a 50/10/2 charger on sale at Sears for about $35, but I am concerned that the 50 amp starting capacity is too low.

Tractor
    Kubota L3200, Ford 1210

I may be in the minority here, but I have never owned a battery charger - except for the NiMH batteries for my digital camera. If a vehicle won't start, I check to see if the battery has been drained by a load unintentionally left "on". I also check if the battery is more than 4 years old. If it died with no load, and/or is over 4 years old, it gets replaced.

I suppose if I had a battery for a trolling motor or something like that I would need a charger.................chim

Veteran Member
    Home-1+ acres New Hope, TX / 24 acres-Fannin County
    Tractor
    JD 950