Wheel weights

/ Wheel weights #1  

patrickg

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota Grand L4610HSTC
After solving the mystery of why Kubota prohibits liquid fill if you have a L4610HSTC, I ordered wheel weights, all that will fit, three on each side in rear.

Will it jump up and down at speed if only some weights are installed? Since the weight doesn't load the axle, is it reasonable to leave them on most all the time? I realize I will loose a bit of fuel economy and potentially wear the brakes and tires faster but other than these marginal effects, is there a down side I'm not thinking about?

Treat me gentle, please as this is my first time with weights.

Pat

/ Wheel weights #2  
patrickg:

All of the tractor wheel weights I have seen were circular rings that bolt on to the wheel around the outside of the lug nuts. They are not like tire balancing weights that clip to the outer rim of the wheel. Consequently, since the weight is evenly distributed around the center of the axle, you should have no trouble with bounce, no matter how many you have on at one time - as long as you have the same number/weight on each rear wheel.

On my ford 1700, I left them on all the time. I never had a situation where I thought the tractor would perform better without them. If there was a difference in fuel economy, I never noticed, because I never took them off. Maybe I am just too lazy /w3tcompact/icons/smile.gif.

You will really notice a difference with FEL work -- the back end won't get nearly so light when you have a full bucket of dirt or rock in front. You may still find that having a box blade or other counterweight on the 3-pt. hitch will be helpful if you are moving heavy material in the FEL and have enough maneuvering room to keep a 3-pt attachment on while you use the FEL.

Curious -- why does Kubota prohibit tire fill on your machine? /w3tcompact/icons/hmm.gif

/ Wheel weights #3  
Patrick: