TIG welding aluminum

/ TIG welding aluminum #1  

robs660

Gold Member
Tractor
Kubota B20
I am a pretty good tig welder on steel, and I am finding aluminum to be really difficult to weld. I have a miller Syncrowave 200 and I am trying to weld on 1/8" aluminum flat stock. I am looking for anyone who can give me some advice so that I stop flying through filler rod and gas and I am running out of scrap to practice on.

Help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Need to repair an aluminum roof on my Kubota

/ TIG welding aluminum #2  
i am sure that you are welding using the AC instead of DC current. It also requires only argon gas, not the 25/75 mix. not meaning to step on toes.

/ TIG welding aluminum #3  
Remember to ball the electrode and to use the correct ones.

The other thing to think about is that it takes a lot more heat to melt through the aluminum oxide layer then it does to melt pure aluminum. Therefore need a lot more heat to get it started and then back off on the pedal.

/ TIG welding aluminum #4  
what type of tungsten are you using they are colored at the end we say red top green top and so on red isnt for alluminum green is if youre using green then by all means ball it if u get gold grey or orange u can use them for any metal and should sharpen them not ball them having said that I agree that you are probably just starting too cold and allowing the work to get too hot

/ TIG welding aluminum #5  
The metal need to be CLEAN. Get a stainless steel wire brush and write "Aluminum ONLY" on the handle. Do not use this wire brush for anything else except aluminum or it can pick up contaminants that will be deposited on the aluminum you are trying to clean.

I should also note that different alloys of aluminum use different alloy filler rods. Some alloys of aluminum just don't weld very well at all.

Last edited:
   / TIG welding aluminum #6