getting the blades off

/ getting the blades off #1  

jima1

Bronze Member
Tractor
Kubota B7200 HSTD (sold); MF GC1723E
My wife surprised me at Christmas with some beginner air tools /w3tcompact/icons/smile.gif, it's the <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/Displayitem.taf?itemnumber=33567> Central Pneumatic set from Harbor Freight </A>

The first useful thing I thought to try it on is taking the blades off my KK 5' rear mower. The deck is at least 10 yrs old, I just bought it used a little over a year ago, this is my first attempt to get the blades off for sharpening. Cannot budge the bolts with 15" breaker bar, so I was hoping the impact wrench would make this job easy, even though it is low end. However, it just hammers real good, won't break loose. /w3tcompact/icons/frown.gif I'd appreciate some suggestions on what to try next.... /w3tcompact/icons/hmm.gif is this wrench too lightweight for the job?

Again, I'm a total beginner with air tools, and I've never had this mower apart either, probably there is something I'm doing wrong. My old Worthington compressor is small but it seems to hold 90 PSI ok. I did make sure the wrench was going in the reverse (loosening) direction...

Thanks,
Jim

/ getting the blades off #2  
<font color=blue>...Cannot budge the bolts with 15" breaker bar,...</font color=blue>

I'm assuming you're using a 3/4" socket set... use a 3-4' pipe on your breaker bar as the extension... and the laws of leverage works in your favor... /w3tcompact/icons/smile.gif

On my KK... I believe they were torqued over 500 ft. lbs. on the blade bolts... short of using a super 3/4 or 1" drive air impact wrench... I've never seen anyone's 1/2" impact wrench take those nuts off... /w3tcompact/icons/blush.gif

/ getting the blades off #3