next step after sand blasting skid

/ next step after sand blasting skid #1  

jingle135

Tractor
MF135
im getting my MF135 sandblasted tomorrow now that its all stripped down. i just want to check a few things.

1) After sandblasting do i need to wipe the metal skid down with anything. a cloth with chemicals?? or do i just air hose all the sand off and start with priming.

2) im using zinc phosphate primer, if i apply using a brush, will i get a good finish if a spray over it with the top coat?

thanks

/ next step after sand blasting skid #2  
jingle135,
I used to paint semis for a living. There's nothing better then sand blasting before painting. I prefer an epoxy primer but your zinc rich primer will probably be OK. Just make sure what ever you plan to paint over it is compatible.
regarding any treatment before painting, if the metal is freshly blasted and dry, then just blow it off with clean dry air and a rag then prime immediately. NEVER use acid on clean sandblasted steel because you will never get the microscopic rust out of the small pores. If you paint over microscopic rust, that's the beginning of the end. I wouldn't even wipe it with a solvent (prepsol, 3812, DX330) because you should not have to remove any oils from the surface. It is as clean and abraded as it can ever get once it is blasted. If someone blasts it for you and you have to bring it home and it starts to get any rust forming, then you might as well sand the whole thing down at that point. Ideally, the steel would be primed with in an hour of being blasted. Once it's primed, then you can sand and use body filler and primer surfacer etc. . . .
Remember there is a big difference between primer and sealer.
As far as if you prime it with a brush then spray the top coat, yea, the brush strokes will show. It all depends on how much time you want to spend and how much money you want to spend and what you want the end results to be.
Hope this helps a little :)

/ next step after sand blasting skid