ford 4500 brakes?????

/ ford 4500 brakes????? #1  

Burrell

Tractor
farmall super c, 9n ford, allis chamers b, kubota L 3300, ford 4500 backhoe
I have a ford 4500 work horse tough old tractor and I'm not a ford man. I've got four more that I would like to bury maybe make one a head stone. My question is on the 4500 ford Loader/backhoe what's exactly involved on changing the rear brake pads/disk/ not shour I've heard that they aren't wet and then i've heard they are. my 4500 brakes they are raising cain did I say they were rasing cain. I use this tractor religiosly it's the only woking thing around here other than me. I really don't won't to do any damage that I can prevent but staying of it about impossible. I am a mechanic by trade when I pull the wheels what do I need to expect. New one on me. thanks for any info

/ ford 4500 brakes????? #2  
Here is an exploded view of your 4500's brake system.

You can find the same picture at New Holland. New Holland

Put your cursor on New Holland Construction at the left, then slide down to "english" in the column at far left bottom, and click on it. This will take you to NH North America.

On the next page that appears, there will be a white box at the top left to enter your model number. Select search, and a list of sections of your tractor will appear.

Select which one you want, and click. An exploded view of it will appear. Below is the part descriptions, with part numbers.

Hope this helps..!!

Attachments

• 4500 Brakes.gif
    4500 Brakes.gif
    53.5 KB · Views: 7,340
   / ford 4500 brakes????? #3  
I worked at a Ford dealer for over 15 years and yes they are wet brakes. They were also prone to making some really bad groans and noises if the hydraulic oil was not one they liked. At one time Ford sold a two quart bottle of what they called then "Anti-chatter Additive" to stop this. This only applies if you're still stopping good, just with noise. I don't know if they still sell it, but it's worth a try.