Need help removing rusted up nut!

/ Need help removing rusted up nut! #1  

HCJtractor

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota M6800, Massey Ferguson 240
I am disassembling an old Athens Harrow. The gang nut on the disc shaft is a 2.75" castle nut on a 1.25 or 1.5" shaft. It's been sitting for decades in the weather. The rust doesn't really look that bad but it won't budge. I have a 1" drive impact socket and a long 42" breaker bar. I have sprayed about a whole can of PB Blaster. I also heated it with an acetylene torch (but I am new to acetylene so I may could get it a little hotter next time.)

I think I may go to a repair shop with a 1" drive impact driver and maybe that will work. Any ideas or advice would be appreciated. What type of businesses have a 1" drive that would be willing to tackle this?

/ Need help removing rusted up nut! #2  
Heat it to about cherry red

/ Need help removing rusted up nut! #3  
Heat it to about cherry red

I'd not do that for one reason, you'll ruin the chemistry of the shaft that's probably heat treated.

Just cut it off and replace it with a new one. Cut it off with a abrasive cutoff wheel or a Metabo. Cut almost through and use a clod chisel to finish splitting it off.

/ Need help removing rusted up nut! #4  
If you are good with a torch, you can cut the nut off the shaft without boogering the threads. Just heat the nut quickly and start cutting across the nut working deeper and deeper. When you cut thru the nut you will see the threads and it wont cut them because it is too cold. You need to work quickly so the shaft doesnt soak up the heat. Once you cut one side it should come off. Lots of time, you have to work those nuts back and forth to get the dirt out of the threads. Water may work better than penetrating oil as it wont dissolve dirt. Try working the nut back and forth with a hammer wrench or pipe wrench that you dont mind beating on. Wet it with water and try it some more.

/ Need help removing rusted up nut! #5