ford 8n will not fire

/ ford 8n will not fire #1  

catfishonly

Tractor
ford 8n
Hi all im new to tractorbynet form.I have a ford 8n front mount dist. i put new coil points and condenser and rotor button and cap on three times still no fire. I know i cant have 3 bad coils and points from different places could any of you help me and tell me what im doing wrong

/ ford 8n will not fire #2  
points should be set a .020 . make shure the points will open and close if they don't close no fire. also do you have good coil and plug wires? has this tractor ran lately?

/ ford 8n will not fire #3  
Hi all im new to tractorbynet form.I have a ford 8n front mount dist. i put new coil points and condenser and rotor button and cap on three times still no fire. I know i cant have 3 bad coils and points from different places could any of you help me and tell me what im doing wrong

Welcome to TBN! Lots of 8N owners (and former owners like me) here, so I'm sure you will get the help you need. You may want to use the search function to look for answers too. More details about what you have done and how the tractor was running prior to the no start would be helpful.

I'm assuming the battery is good and the engine will crank, but not fire. Also assume you pulled a plug wire and got no spark to the block while cranking. Perhaps I should have just asked how you know you didn't have spark.

The good news is that the 8N ignition is pretty simple. Make sure you have power to the coil and to the points. With the ignition on and the points closed, use a screwdriver to open the points. You should see a good spark.

If you have power to the distributor and the points are opening/closing (crank the engine with the cap removed) then it has to be bad plug/coil wires. Have you changed those?

/ ford 8n will not fire