I'm not a mechanic

/ I'm not a mechanic #1  

pearson1662

I operated an old MF as a youngster that my father kept running quite well. He was an excellent mechanic. Now, I would like to buy an older tractor because I think I can find one that will meet my needs and of course they are much less expensive. I think older tractors are cool. Some examples that I have seen that I think would meet my perceived needs are MF 165, IH 284 and 300, etc. I need a brushog, a disc, maybe a FEL, maybe a plow, probably a blade of some type. I'm kinda set on getting one with a live PTO and coventional three point hitch. My concern is what happens if it needs repair that is beyond my ken? I understand that some tractors are notorious for being difficult to find parts for. The IH284 is one that seems to own this reputation. Is that accurate? Is this just a problem you accept or is there a recognized, reputable source for parts? Does Case stock parts for all their older IH/Farmall tractors? What about MF? New Holland for Ford, etc? Should I establish a relationship with a tractor mechanic before I consider a particular brand? Are salvaged parts reasonable/reliable or is it just a function of which unit I choose? I saw an ad for a IH284 that looks pristine yet my "internet research" indicates it may be difficult to find parts for it, should it be necessary. Are diesel engines more reliable than gasoline? Should that be a factor in my considerations?

Should I just buy a new Kubota?

/ I'm not a mechanic #2  
new kubota

/ I'm not a mechanic #3