JD Parts Inquiry

/ JD Parts Inquiry #1  

wacokid

Tractor
John Deere 3038E
I've been lurking around for over a year but finally had to jump in and for a question. I have a brand new Frontier Rotary Tiller I picked up from my local Deere Dealer a couple months ago. I don't have five hours on it and the gear housing broke in half. The quoted price is pretty steep. Anybody have any ideas for aftermarket help? The repair is half the cost of a new one. The shaft and gears are fine, it's just the cast metal housing between the shaft and the tiller. I want to be loyal to the dealer but since I am fairly new to this stuff and it's more hobby than anything I want to make sure I'm not throwing money away on something I can patch myself. Thanks!
67078b03.jpg

0c422baf.jpg

/ JD Parts Inquiry #2  
Should have a 1 year warranty.
What is the dealer saying on that?

/ JD Parts Inquiry #3  
Ouch. I'm gonna assume it was a pto length issue, or other operator error, since you aren't concerned about a warrenty claim. We've all been there, how a person learns, but just heading off the inevitable line of qurestions you'll get... ;)

You'd have to search through the industrial supply places to find the same housing. Obviously JD buys these gearboxes from some gearbox company, but typically they try to have an exclusive on them and keep the relationship from the public. That way they can do a 50-100% marhup on the replacement parts. (Actually JD buys the tillers wholesale from some manufaturer, and the tiller maker buys the gearcases wholesale from some gearcase making company, so you can try to figure out similar tiller brandnames, or the gearcase co to begin with....)

So, the chore is to figure out what gearbox manufaturer you need to get it from, and then find a retailer that can get the part from the wholesale gearcase company.

Sometimes more hassle than it's worth.