Crankshaft pully

/ Crankshaft pully #1  

lexmark

Tractor
Farmpro2420
Hello fellows,I am about to undertake the task of changing the fan belt on my 2003 Farmpro 2420.I know that I have to remove the crankshft pully to get the belt on and off.I am an old helicopter mechanic and I have never pulled a crank pully off before or put one on so how is the best way to get it off and back on?I have a impact wrench and a puller.There is not a lot of rrom to work ,unless I take the whole front end off,and I would hate to do that.
Outside of trading the think for a JD or Farmall can any one help???
Mike

/ Crankshaft pully
How about trying a "Link Belt" I an not sure if one would work or not. I have one waiting to try on my KUbota if/when the fan belt fails. On my B7100 I will need to remove the front hydraulic pump to change the belt.

Link V-Belt A/4L Belt Type, 5 Ft - V-Belts - Power Transmission Belts - 6PTY2 : Grainger Industrial Supply

Thanks Sam,
I will see what I can find and I sure as heck will try the link belt before I have to resort to drastic measures.I wonder what was going through the minds of the jackass that designed these tractors:thumbdown:

/ Crankshaft pully #4  
Some pulleys are threaded in a well containing the bolt that holds it on. Then all you need is a bolt the right size and a way of holding the pulley.
If you have to use a puller and the shaft is not tapered and uses a key to fix the pulley, place a two jaw puller so that a line between the jaws goes through the center of the key cross section. Tighten the puller until it won't pull, then turn the shaft so the jaws are at 12 and 6 o'clock, with the key up. Hit the upper jaw by the puller cross member with a small sledge hammer (striking downward). Rotate the shaft 180 degrees and again strike the upper jaw. It should come off using the puller after that.

/ Crankshaft pully