Broken Exhaust Manifold...weldable?

/ Broken Exhaust Manifold...weldable? #1  

amazingfacts

Tractor
Massey Ferguson 135
I just ran over a log and the pipe into the exhaust manifold broke off. :( It's rather a clean break and I'm wondering what material the exhaust manifold is on a Ferguson TO30. Cast iron? Can it be welded back? Thanks!

/ Broken Exhaust Manifold...weldable? #2  
Can be welded, but you have to know what you are doing. the other thing is warp, and on a manifold I would think it would be hard to get right.

/ Broken Exhaust Manifold...weldable? #3  
My MF 250 broke the same way; brazed it back together, worked great.

/ Broken Exhaust Manifold...weldable?
Ok great thanks for your input Ed.

/ Broken Exhaust Manifold...weldable? #6  
I am no expert but just welded together a cast shop floor drill press base that was broken clean in two...
I heated it and let it cool slowly over several days using charcoal as the heat source and sand as the insulation...
If you can heat it and let it cool slowly after welding you can be successful...
If I can do it anyone can...
I used a Hobart cast iron rod set @ 75 Amps...

/ Broken Exhaust Manifold...weldable? #7  
My MF 250 broke the same way; brazed it back together, worked great.

I had that done on my 1962 Rambler American car (cast iron). It held for awhile then broke again in the same place. I sometimes wondered if the break was due to exhaust pipe header and/or muffler not being aligned quite right so that vibration or stress was causing the break. Probably brazing can be done better these days.

/ Broken Exhaust Manifold...weldable? #8