How Critical Water in Trans/Hyd Fluid?

/ How Critical Water in Trans/Hyd Fluid? #1  

Crashcup

Tractor
'71 International 444
I think this question is more general than just for my IH 444, so will try here in this forum.

First, I am new to owning and maintaining a tractor. So, my first mistake may have been not checking the fluids on the IH 444 I bought. I honestly wouldn't have known where to have a look at the trans/hyd fluid, and didn't even know that they are one and the same.

One of the hydraulic couplers had an o-ring fail, and from the resulting leak, I could see the fluid was very milky-looking. I drained the fluid from both reservoirs and replaced with new fluid from TSC that is supposed to replace IH Hy-Tran.

Well, after checking the fluid level today, it's still milky-looking. Apparently I didn't get all the water out. There are 4 drain plugs involved; I pulled all those, and opened and drained a large canister-type suction filter before the front-mounted aux pump, and pulled a large suction hose off the back and let that drain out at ground level. I figured that there would be a small amount of water left, and that would be okay and would hopefully evaporate out from use. It took 20 gallons total to refill. I would have thought whatever water was left would be a very small proportion. How much can be left in hyd lines and cylinders?

Will the oil look milky even with a small amount of water in it?

How bad is this situation for the hydraulics or trans? I'm hesitant to change out the fluid again, it's 20 gallons, and that ain't exactly cheap.

Any tips for getting all the water out? Do I need to disconnect hoses and cylinders and try to drain all that?

Thanks

/ How Critical Water in Trans/Hyd Fluid? #2