Massey Ferguson FE35x Tachometer Cable Replacment

/ Massey Ferguson FE35x Tachometer Cable Replacment #1  

sonichead

Tractor
Massey FE35X
Hi All,
First of all thanks in advance for taking the time to read this post. I'm new to this so you will have to be patient with me. I have recently bought a Massey Ferguson fe35x which I love great little tractor with lots of fond memories from my younger years. In all its in great shape not sure the year but think it's 1964 or so the seller told me. So to my question Tachometer is not working and I'm planning on replacing it over the weekend. Is there any procedure I should follow, the cable looks completely knackered so perhaps that is the first job ill tackle? Is it a straight forward job any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. I dont have a maintenance manual for it that will have to be my next purchase.
Again thanks,

Last edited:
   / Massey Ferguson FE35x Tachometer Cable Replacment #2  
Is this a gas or diesel? They had both in that tractor. Must be a diesel if you have a cable driven tach huh?

/ Massey Ferguson FE35x Tachometer Cable Replacment #3  
Gas model ran off the generator to the tach via square cable. available aftermarket via tisco.....similar to TO/MF 35's

/ Massey Ferguson FE35x Tachometer Cable Replacment #4  
G'day pull the cable off the back of the tach and pull it out so you can see it then start the tractor and see if it is turning if it is then it is the tach at fault, if the cable is not turning then pull it from where it mounts to the engine and see if the inner is intact if it is then start her up again and make sure the drive is turning. They are a pretty simple setup on both petrol and diesel ones and your local sparex or bepco dealer shoud have all the parts aftermarket that you will need to fix it.

Jon

/ Massey Ferguson FE35x Tachometer Cable Replacment
Hello All,