Supports for removing loader frame

/ Supports for removing loader frame #1  

curz

Tractor
Deere 301
Hi folks,

After lurking here for quite a while to help me decide what I kind of tractor I needed, I finally bought a fix'r upper. I primarily need the loader for clearing some brush piles on our new property in Catlett, Virginia. I'm a former auto mechanic turned software programmer with a small home machine shop, so I'm hoping to be able to do most of the work myself.

I've acquired a "new to me" tractor. The tractor in question is a 1972 (or so I'm told) Deere 301 industrial with a diesel 2.5L, FEL, 3PT and PTO. It seems to have a solid engine and gearbox, but the hydraulics are weak and there's an issue that I could use some help with.

The previous owner had the tractor for 15 years and in the last few has been loosening the bolts which hold the front sub-frame to the engine. There are 6 bolts that hold the sub-frame to the engine - deere calls it the front support -- AT24986 is the part number. The PO finally took it to Deere after stripping some threads and they installed some thread inserts ($2500.00!). Those lasted about 6 months before pulling out again. He gave up and sold the tractor cheap. I haven't split the sub-frame from the engine yet, so I can't tell you if the inserts just came out or if they took the new threads with them.

I've ordered a workshop manual from Deere, but in the mean time, I've been looking at the pictures on the deereparts site. I can't be certain, but it looks like there may be a couple of missing steel plates that go between the rear boss of the engine to the front sub-frame. Part numbers T21653 and T21654. If this is the case, it would explain why the bolts are pulling out. I'll try to get a picture of where I think they'd go today.