Cracked Block: Whose Responsibility??

/ Cracked Block: Whose Responsibility?? #1  

Mahindra One

Tractor
Mahindra 4025
I'm writing on behalf of a good friend. Took his 1948 8N to a dealer for a motor overhaul. It was reportedly ready to be picked up about 10 days ago and as he planned to go get it he later got a call from the dealership saying it wouldn't start and they needed to see why. About a week later he received a call from the dealer saying that they determined the block was cracked in two places. Now the tractor was taken to the dealer with no indicators of a cracked block. The owner had checked the oil within a couple days of taking it, hadn't been using it due to lack of growth of the grass here in Texas (all it he has ever used it for) and feels pretty sure that there was no indication of any cracks when delivered to the dealer. His thought is that perhaps it is possible that the block was cracked during installation of the cylinder sleeves. Not being a mechanic myself, nor is he, I would like some feedback from some of the brother's as to the likelihood of this happening or whatever other ideas anyone has. Thanks for reading.

/ Cracked Block: Whose Responsibility?? #2  
Where in the block are the cracks? Presume since it did't start water was getting into the cylinders.

/ Cracked Block: Whose Responsibility?? #3  
Where in the block are the cracks? Presume since it did't start water was getting into the cylinders.