water in hyd system on bobcat

/ water in hyd system on bobcat #1  

jimmasters

Tractor
ford 5600
I am new to this so please go easy on me. I am trying to help a friend with a bobcat w/much water in the hyd system. He said someone had a cover off to replace a chain? and didnt replace a gasket. eventually rain got water into system. My question is how to get all the fluid/water & all flushed out so it can be refilled? Btw he says the gasket has been replaced. My first thought was drain & refill w/ diesel fuel to chase or flush out contaminated fluid. Any warnigs-thoughts-suggestions will be greatfully appreciated.Even mild criticism,jeers,ridicule might be helpful! thanks in advance,jimmasters

/ water in hyd system on bobcat #2  
The problem I found it seems like every cylinder had trapped water in them on our old JD 310B backhoe.

In the process of blowing an O-ring and fixing it I realized even after I drained the oil out of it and refilled the next time I try to drain at first I got clear water then the milky stuff would start.

It seems if one will just drain a bit and get the clear water out of the sump drain on our backhoe then work it for an hour and drain the clear water again and again that it keeps moving out of the cylinders and back to the transmission sump where it can be bled off as I just stated.

In other words one can not drain out the old fluid and remove the water from the system. I did not use diesel since it is over half the price of real UTF. I did use a lot of expense Sea Foam at first and it helped but nothing was going to get the water out short of pulling the drain plug over and over and draining the new pooling water until you get no more clear water.

One has to be careful and focused not to drop the drain plug or let out more after the clear water stops. It seems 2/3 of our 22 gallons are NOT in the sump but in the lines, cylinders, filters, etc.