ford 5600 clutch

/ ford 5600 clutch #1  

seventyfour

Tractor
ford 5600
I have a 79 Ford 5600 with a slipping clutch and cannot seem to get a honest answer from the local repair shops on the cost to repair my tractor. I am a pretty good mechanic but have not had to split a tractor before and do not know if i am willing to learn the hard way. If anyone can give me a estimated cost in the shop or a rough idea what is involved in splitting the tractor and doing the repairs myself it would help a lot so I am not at the mercy of a repair shop.

Thank You

/ ford 5600 clutch #2  
i imagine that beast will be a few thou bcks in a shop.

I beat on smaller, older fords... though I just did a slightly smaller JD ( 2240 ).. still not wanting to tackle my 5000 but it is going to need a clutch by the end of the year I fear.

big single palte job.

mostly just manhandling the tracto.. blocking the front axle pivot.. and dealing with deadweight of the halves. going to need a flat surface and a helper for sure.

ask user RickB here for an idea.. he's a NH parts guy. straight talke.. knows his stuff inside and out// backwards..e tc. can give you a price quote.. perhaps even sell you some parts..

another user Whodat also works on those later machiens I believe. he can offer some insight as well.

/ ford 5600 clutch #4