Kubota B21 stalls and dies on throttle up

/ Kubota B21 stalls and dies on throttle up #1  

mwolfod

I have a 2001 Kubota B21 purchased used, with approximately 12,000 hours on the hour meter.

It has run without issue since I purchased it, running an additional ~ 300 hours on it.

I recently changed all the filters, and the oil + the transmission/ hydraulic fluids. Subsequent to this maintenance, I used the tractor an additional ~15 hours without issues.

The Kubota is now exhibiting the following symptoms:

- Starts and idles OK.

- When throttling up, the engine will idle at high RPMs for anywhere from 5- 20 seconds and then if not throttled back will quickly lose power and RPMs and eventually die. I am able to keep the engine running by throttling back to about 1/2-2/3.

- Idling at low RPM seems a bit rough, but not much different then when I first obtained the tractor.

- Full throttle, while unsustainable as mentioned above, seems to be smooth.

Caveat: I am a COMPLETE rookie when it comes to tractors, settings, and even basic diesel engine maintenance abilities.

Thanks in advance for the informed commentary and advice.

Excellent Forum.

Last edited:
   / Kubota B21 stalls and dies on throttle up #2  
When this was happening to my brother it turned out to be a restriction in the tank fuel pickup...

Equipment had been sitting awhile and algae started to grow.

He tired a biocide and it helped.

Eventually he flushed the tank and replaced filters one last time an no more problem.

Only a guess on my part.

/ Kubota B21 stalls and dies on throttle up #3  
Sounds like fuel delivery to me also. Start it up and stand on the side where you can watch the fuel filter bowl. Rev it up and see if the bowl is emptying about the time it starts stall. Did you change the fuel filters when you did the others? If so I'll bet it is crud in the tank.

MarkV

/ Kubota B21 stalls and dies on throttle up