Quick question - When you take the oil filter off, does the oil need to be drained?

/ Quick question - When you take the oil filter off, does the oil need to be drained? #1  

TexasDad76

Tractor
Husqvarna 2754GLS and GT52XLS
I changed the oil -- including re-filling it with new oil -- then I decided to change the oil filter as well (which has never been done on my 5-year-old mower).

Do I need to drain the brand-new oil into a container so it doesn't all end up on the floor?

If I manage to get the oil filter off (which is another story -- quite difficult on a factory install) I'd like to know what to expect. I've never done this before.

Thanks,

Matthew

/ Quick question - When you take the oil filter off, does the oil need to be drained? #2  
I took a quick look on line of the oil capacity on a Husqvarna 2754GLS, 64 oz with filter replacement. We are not talking a lot of money for 2 qts of oil. I'd just do the whole oil change and filter over and not worry about the existing oil.

/ Quick question - When you take the oil filter off, does the oil need to be drained? #3  
I don't know what engine that model has, but it should be easy to figure out. Measure how far down on the dipstick the oil level is. Convert this to a distance above the floor. Then measure the distance from the floor to the filter and that will tell you whether the oil will drain out when you remove the filter.

/ Quick question - When you take the oil filter off, does the oil need to be drained? #4  
If you didn't start the engine after filling w/ new oil just drain the new oil into a clean container. Change the filter and add the same oil, no need
to waste perfectly good oil.

/ Quick question - When you take the oil filter off, does the oil need to be drained? #5  
I would mow with it once, then change the oil and filter again.. We have a waste oil furnace so I tend to change oil more often than many..