1959 Ford 851 12v Starting System Woes

/ 1959 Ford 851 12v Starting System Woes #1  

NETXFarmers

Tractor
Kubota L3400, '59 Ford 851, '51 Ford 8N
Hello All,

I'm having a problem with my 1959 851 12v starting system. After spending quite a bit of time researching it based on what I've found so far, I'm having a hard time wrapping my head around next steps. I'm relatively new to DIY tractor mechanic'ing, but I take direction well.

First, it all started about 2 months ago when it just quit starting. No turnover, no clicking, couldn't jump it from a known good battery, nothing. Was able to determine with a multimeter that the solenoid post that cables to the starter motor wasn't putting out any juice no matter what, so replaced the solenoid. Worked great for a month, then quit starting again. It would click, but starter motor wouldn't turn over. And again, couldn't jump it from a known good battery. Disconnected the starter motor wire at the starter motor, put the tractor in neutral, chocked the tires, tried putting 12v directly on the starter motor terminal, no starter motor noise, just a giant spark. Replaced the starter motor, worked great for another month, then quit starting again.

I should also note that during the troubleshooting of these other problems, I replaced pretty much all the wiring (there's not much, and a lot of it looked tired), and I had the battery tested (weak) and replaced it with a good, heavy duty Interstate battery.