Ok, 1 more theoretical ?

/ Ok, 1 more theoretical ? #1  

Sprocket1

Bronze Member
Tractor
JD2305 JD5205
and then I'll quit. Maybe. It is hard on a gasoline engine to run it without a muffler. Why?

/ Ok, 1 more theoretical ? #2  
OK....Why? The most powerful gasoline engines I know of , (top-fuel dragsters, 5,000+ hp), run without mufflers.

/ Ok, 1 more theoretical ?
A muffler causes backpressure. Backpressure is needed to keep the piston pushing down on the connecting rod bearing. If it didn't the piston will have a minute amount of overtravel due to bearing clearance. It is called "slap" I think. The engines you are refering to are extremely short lived. They measure "worn outness" in seconds not hundreds of hours.

/ Ok, 1 more theoretical ? #4  
Yes, you'll loose exhaust valves.
What do I win?
Danny

/ Ok, 1 more theoretical ? #5  
I haven't heard or read that one and I've been a mechanic for durn near 30 years. Even with back pressure you would get that slap effect when the piston and rod changed direction. If you had enough back pressure to push the piston down it would barely run if it ran at all. You also have a pressurized oil film for a cushion. Why would it affect a gasoline engine and not an unmuffled non- turbocharged diesel engine? I think someone blew some smoke up your hiney. /forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif I've always heard that you didn't want to run an engine without pipes from the manifolds. It had nothing to do with back pressure, supposedly when you shut it off cold air could run up the manifolds and warp the exhaust valves. I have ran the pee out of a few engines without exhaust pipes on cold days and shut them off and never had a valve problem due to cold air intrusion.

/ Ok, 1 more theoretical ?