MF65 - oil leaking out of back wheel

/ MF65 - oil leaking out of back wheel #1  

intothefray2007

Tractor
Massey Ferguson 65
Hello all!

Recently purchased a Massey Ferguson 65 and it's been running great, disced and cultivated and mowed in the field with it this fall. Last time I used it, I noticed oil on the right-hand back tire assembly (see pictures). Now this is the first tractor I ever bought; I'm a bit of a newbie on maintenance, so bear with me.

Is this oil used for the brakes? If not, what is it for, how do I check the level, what type is it supposed to be, and how much should be in there?

I'm also not sure why it's leaking in the first place...? Is there a washer or gasket around these parts? I took a look but couldn't quite see the origin of the leak.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/6enr8c5u7oac7sf/20141026_174847.jpg?dl=0

https://www.dropbox.com/s/y4e0i9fe3skvek3/20141026_174857.jpg?dl=0

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ore86n9632umh3t/20141026_174943.jpg?dl=0

/ MF65 - oil leaking out of back wheel #2  
Hey into, welcome to the forum.. I'm not positive but looks like the leak may be coming from the tire's valve stem. Tractor tires are often filled with liquid solution to add weight to give more traction at ground contact. I would contact dealer where you purchased and check first to see if it's a covered repair. Most times tires are filled by the dealer as an extra (sometimes a perk or bargaining chip) and should be covered for them to check and repair free, as long as you transport it both ways. Sometimes dealers will send their mobile repair truck, but call and check first, so you won't be stuck with a surprise cost. Good luck and let us know the outcome....... Happy Holidays! KW

/ MF65 - oil leaking out of back wheel #3