What's the secret to drilling through 1/4" angle iron?

/ What's the secret to drilling through 1/4" angle iron? #1  

tallyho8

Elite Member
Who Dat Nation west of Westwego east of Ama south
Tractor
Kubota L4400, Kubota ZD326
I have to drill 40 quarter inch holes through 1/4" angle iron with a hand drill. I've tried most of the different drill bits that Home Depot sells and they usually get too dull to drill after 2 holes.

Is there a better drill bit I can buy or am I doing something wrong in the way I am drilling?

/ What's the secret to drilling through 1/4" angle iron? #2  
I'm no expert on this and would also like to learn. However, I would suggest the following:
1) use oil/lubrication. Tap magic or the like, at least some squirts of WD40.
2) go slow, you aren't in a race to rip through it. If you're making lots of smoke, you're doing it wrong.
3) use a drill press so that you have good control of the pressure and alignment
4) Get a drill doctor and don't be afraid to tune up your own drill bits, repeatedly if needed.

/ What's the secret to drilling through 1/4" angle iron? #3  
What deezler said +1 specially the drill doctor part.

/ What's the secret to drilling through 1/4" angle iron? #4  
+1 on what deezler said, plus drill a pilot hold of about 1/8", then step up to the 1/4".

/ What's the secret to drilling through 1/4" angle iron? #5  
Most likely your drill is turning too fast. Move up to a half-inch drill (motor, not bit) they run a lot slower and won't burn the bit.

Lean on it enough to keep a curl of metal coming off the bit. Too little pressure is as bad as too much.

Lube is good.

I don't do pilot holes until I get MUCH bigger than 1/4". All that does is put all the stress on the outside edges of the bit where it's the weakest.

/ What's the secret to drilling through 1/4" angle iron? #6