What to use behind my grain drill to cover seeds?

/ What to use behind my grain drill to cover seeds? #1  

Alpagas

Tractor
Ford 4000
Hello again, Im kinda new to all this but id like to know if i can simply use chains behind my IH model 10 grain drill to cover up the seeds. We will be planting a mixture of hay, brome and other small seeds (for our horses) and i want to make sure im doing things right.

Thanks in advance

/ What to use behind my grain drill to cover seeds? #2  
G'day Mate and welcome to TBN from Downunder.

A chain harrow will work just fine. I'd also recommend ballast-rolling the paddocks after that in order to set/compact the ground... it'll allow the roots to get more of a grip due to horses 'ripping' at the yummy grass.

/ What to use behind my grain drill to cover seeds? #3  
I use drag chains from these guys on my old, restored Minneapolis Moline P3-6 grain drill

http://farmpartsonline.com/grain-drill/grain-drill-drag-chains/

Drill openers-1.JPGM5525  drill-1.JPGM5525 drill -2.JPGM5525 drill---3.JPG

These chains do a good job. Here's Kanota oats I planted a few years ago before the drought hit CA

Kanota oats-1.JPGKanota oats-2.JPG

Good luck

/ What to use behind my grain drill to cover seeds? #4  
That doesn't look right. There is no way that tractor should be pulling that drill - they aren't even from the same century.

/ What to use behind my grain drill to cover seeds? #5  
I reseeded a meadow several years ago. I just tied down a 15 foot chunk of 2" galvanized pipe across the back of my ATV and attached a log chain to each end - letting the loop drag on the ground. It worked just fine.

/ What to use behind my grain drill to cover seeds? #6  
I have planted many many acres with out any kind of drag behind an old grain drill. Planted everything from grass seed to oats and always had a good stand. If you do anything it won't take much. Ed

/ What to use behind my grain drill to cover seeds? #7