Rear wheels will not drive but front wheels do

/ Rear wheels will not drive but front wheels do #1  

willgardner

Tractor
Deutz-Fahr
Gday from Australia

I have a strange thing happening to my tractor and before I spend thousands having it trucked to a repair centre I thought I would ask the forums.

I was doing some work recently and after a whole bunch of ugly grinding noises I no longer get drive from the rear wheels.
When the tractor is engaged into 4WD the front wheels work, but no drive comes from the rear in 2WD or 4WD.

The tractor is a Deutz Fahr 4.50 and I have, after a lot of time and effort, located a transmission manual.
I'm willing to get under the tractor and pull out the parts that are broken.
My problem is that I'm a part time farmer and don't know where to start.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to what might have broken?

Cheers

Will

Attachments

• Deutz Huge Powertrain page 20.jpg
    Deutz Huge Powertrain page 20.jpg
    275.2 KB · Views: 509
   / Rear wheels will not drive but front wheels do #2  
My first intuition is that some of the rear differential parts may have thrown in the proverbial towel.

If there is a separate rear differential case, drain that oil and see what comes out. If it's a combined gearbox-diff-hydraulic bath, check that fluid and see if metal pieces come out.

/ Rear wheels will not drive but front wheels do #3  
Broken differential half shaft. Does it have a differential lock? Engage it, see if it drives on one side of the rear.

/ Rear wheels will not drive but front wheels do
My first intuition is that some of the rear differential parts may have thrown in the proverbial towel.

If there is a separate rear differential case, drain that oil and see what comes out. If it's a combined gearbox-diff-hydraulic bath, check that fluid and see if metal pieces come out.

Thanks Rosher18
I will have a go at this but unfortunately it won't be until the weekend.
I'll post what I find.