Bucket pins/bushing issue

/ Bucket pins/bushing issue #1  

Fastball

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota L2900
Ok, this doesn't look right. I noticed that the bucket pins on Dad's LA480 loader look wrong.
One pin was just held in by the linch pin and the other looks like it's snapped off. And they look different sizes, to boot. As you can tell, I'm a total tractor newbie. I take it there's a bushing in the holes, and a pin is inserted into the bushing and pinned into place. So what the heck is this?

Attachments

• IMG_0135.JPG
    IMG_0135.JPG
    86 KB · Views: 577
  • IMG_0136.JPG
    IMG_0136.JPG
    105.9 KB · Views: 693
  • IMG_0138.JPG
    IMG_0138.JPG
    85.5 KB · Views: 860
   / Bucket pins/bushing issue #2  
One has too small of a pin in it.
The other, I would guess the pin rusted into the loader arm. That one will take a torch to get out.

Aaron Z

/ Bucket pins/bushing issue
Well, since my elderly father can't even remember the last time he had any servicing done (there's 1300 hours on his L2900) - I think I'm going to get the dealership to go over this thing. Change fluids, filters, hydraulics...and obviously, address this bucket issue - in general, everything. I might even go the whole enchilada and get the tires loaded, etc.

/ Bucket pins/bushing issue #4  
Depending on your skills and available tools you may be able to make this a DIY project. These small tractor buckets do not have bushings. The pins fit into drilled holes in both pieces and pins the same size inserted. Clearance between pins and hole is fairly loose. That is why the OP manuals call for lubricating every 10 hours of use. Dirt, water, and lack of lube rapidly cause wear. Your look to be well worn. Having a tractor dealer fix them at $125/hr may get pretty expensive, may approach or exceed replacement cost.