Ignition circuit fuse burns

/ Ignition circuit fuse burns #1  

lacamo

Bronze Member
Tractor: MF 275

The fuse in the ignition circuit blows several seconds after starting, probably once the alternator starts charging. (The tractor continues to run). The schematics indicate an excitation diode aligned so as to prevent the alternator charge going back through the ignition circuit: this is missing, which *might* explain why the fuse blows. However, I've had the tractor for 2 years and not seen this. I've disconnected everything else (lights, gauges, etc) and checked for shorts in the remaining cables. Any ideas ???

/ Ignition circuit fuse burns #2  
Some questions;
What is several seconds? 5? 10? 15?
How do you know when it blows?
What are the symptoms? Alternator light coming on?
A sudden problem not seen in 2 years indicates something new has failed, not an old problem just showing up.

/ Ignition circuit fuse burns #3  
I'm not an expert on this but it sounds like you've done some good homework on this already and you have a diode you haven't changed yet. Because the ignition only has so many things which can go wrong I would think changing the diode is a good idea. The alternator is the only thing which could put a load on the ignition so either the diode is bad or the switch itself.

/ Ignition circuit fuse burns
Actually, it's when the oil pressure switch closes and current is fed to the alternator to start charging, about 2-3 seconds. I just spoke with a mechanic who specializes in ignition systems and he told me that the diode is probably not necessary (he said an older JD he worked on had one, a newer one, same model, did not.). His opinion was that there was a short in the alternator, possibly a bad diode which can be repaired. Thanks for the help.

Well, I got home and put a volt meter to the battery: 13.8V for 10 minutes. Then I read the output from the alternator: 14V. Guess that means she's charging OK. Maybe I will try that diode.