welder on crack

/ welder on crack #1  

wilajo

Tractor
case 580 turbo D 4wdTBL
Howdy folks. This is my first time posting, though I’ve been following your conversations for awhile. You’re a helpful and amiable group.

On the advice of a friend, I recently purchased a Miller 251 mig welder (1/2” penetration) set up with .035 wire and argon/co2 gas. To date, I have done no more than practice laying down a bead on various pieces of steel.

I am going to repair a crack in my 2’ backhoe bucket. The 8” long crack runs parallel to the center tooth assembly, starting at the buckets cutting edge and heading toward the rear of the bucket. The crack has completely penetrated the ½” thick, beveled cutting edge, and the overlapping 1/4 +” steel of the bucket itself.

I have been told to find where the crack ends and drill a hole at that point to stop the crack from lengthening. I have been told to grind a groove down the length of the crack to clean it out. I have been told to grind the metal around the crack to clean it up. After welding the crack, I intend to weld a plate over it for added strength.

Questions: /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif Do I grind the crack following groove completely through the total thickness of the steel?
Do I fill the crack stopping drill hole with weld or leave it unfilled?

Thanks,
Bill J.

/ welder on crack #2  
In addition to asking the question here, I would highly recommend you stop by the following site and ask there too.

Hobart welder's Forum...

Hobart is owned by Miller and there are a lot of experienced welders there who can give great welding advice.

It is the "TBN" for weldor's I think. /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif

/ welder on crack #3