pressure relief question

/ pressure relief question #1  

BigAl

Platinum Member
California , Idaho and a little island in Panama
Tractor
Kioti DK45TLB
Can I just put a second pressure relief valve inline on my extra set of hyd hoses to my front loader add on attachnents ? Some need a very minimun pressure and others need all the pressure I can send . It would be nice just to turn a knob to regulate pressure . I don't want to bend any more parts !!! Big Al

/ pressure relief question #2  
I believe what you want is a flow regulator, but I'm no hydraulic expert. Maybe Mad will chime in with the answer. John

/ pressure relief question #3  
You mean you want to control the flow to the cylinders to slow them down? Then you need some type of flow control, either a line restrictor or a special flow control valve on the work port side of the spool valve.

Relief valves are used on the pressure side of the spool valve, not the work port side.

/ pressure relief question
Hi Mad ,
OK ,this is what I have going on . I have a custom built grapple added on to my existing loader bucket that has so much hyd. strength when the jaw's close that it can twist the mounting brackets for the ram and that is a solid 2" piece of steel tubing . I need to get less psi power but keep the same volume so it closes quickly . My other attachment that is in the "build works" now is a tree shear that needs all the psi and volume it can get . I was hoping I could just put something "in line" to work . /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif Since I can't use the grapple at the same time as I use the shear ,I was hoping I could reuse the same hyd. lines for both duties . Thanks for your input .
Big Al

/ pressure relief question #5  
How about smaller diameter cylinder(s) to operate the grapple? If the existing cylinder(s) came with the grapple and the grapple's own frame won't hold up to the pressure the cylinder(s) exert, it sounds like a lousy design.

/ pressure relief question #6