Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tractor
    1952 Ford 8N

Default Carb Cleaning

Have a 52 8N with a carb that needs some attention. I am new to these things and need some advise on how to clean or "tune up" the carb. I have replaced the float and adjusted its height, replaced the needle and seat, and adjusted the timing.

How should I go about cleaning it? Is there a special brush I should use to get in those tiny holes? Any special carb cleaner? Would soaking it in something help?

Any other tips on a cleaning or "tune up" would be appreciated.

Veteran Member
    Tractor
    7275 Cub Cadet

Default Re: Carb Cleaning

You can pickup a gallon can of carb cleaner at your local parts store. Put the carb in there for the reccommended time. Remove it and wash it down to remove the cleaner. Blow it out with an air hose and re-assemble it.

Tractor
    JD 2025R, previously Gravely 5650 & JD 4010 & JD 1025R

If it was running at all, I'd have tried adding some Sea Foam to the gasoline supply first. It made my Gravely run better from a cold start.

I generally use one of those spray carb cleaners. Haven't cleaned an 8N's though. My Dad has one. All I've done is buy him an emblem for it.

Ralph

Gold Member
    Tractor
    Kubota L3710DT & Yanmar 186D

The carb cleaner in the gallon gans does really work well. Just make sure you follow the instructions well, especially the part about good ventilation and removing rubber parts or gaskets from the assembly. That stuff is MEAN!
    [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

Jeff

Platinum Member
    Tractor
    1986 Ford 1910 with 770B (FORD) loader, 4 MFWD; 1986 Bolens G214,back hoe,loader,MFWD (Iseki) 21 hp)

Lacquer thinner is the basic ingredient of carb cleaner [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smirk.gif[/img]

Veteran Member
    Tractor
    Kubota L3710, Ford 5600, Case MB4/94, Kubota B6200