Oliver 1855 diesel oil pressure problem

/ Oliver 1855 diesel oil pressure problem #1  

Oliver1855

I have a 1972 Oliver 1855 diesel that after initial startup, will idle around 55psi oil pressure and at 2000RPM its around 75psi. After using it for over an hour, oil press drops to 15-20psi @ idle and 35-40psi @ 2000RPM. Has anyone run across this before? Could it be oil pump? gauge? It runs great with almost no blowby or leaks. After its shut off and cools for 30 min or so, it will have good pressure again. Any help would be appreciated! Thanks

/ Oliver 1855 diesel oil pressure problem #2  
I am not a OLIVER expert.........but what you described I would first screw in a Oil Pressure Gauge to determine if the problem is in the engine or in the oil pressure sending unit and or gauge.

I have found in the past on some engines that loose oil pressure after reaching operating temp or run for a little while.... that the oil pump pickup screen in the oil pan was getting restricted [sludge, metal, old gasket etc]. and when you would cut the engine off and let it set for awhile the trash would fall off the screen....re-start and have oil pressure again. I have also had bearings cause this and with no sounds of bearing going bad.

You could drain and filter the engine oil when this happens [hot engine] to see if you can find anything in the oil that does not look right. From trash to metal.

If I were to just jump in and do something ...I would drop oil pan and look for trash in the bottom of pan and inspect oil pump pick screen.

Just food for thought,
Ronald

/ Oliver 1855 diesel oil pressure problem #3  
I would definately double check the gauge for starters, can't recall for sure but I think there is a bypass valve in the filter housing, but you have a 55 that has a wak in it and not a perkins, might pay to get a shop manual, I don't think you can get at the oil pump without pulling the engine, I could be wrong it's been 15 or so years since I worked on one of these.