Stumped on StumpJumper

/ Stumped on StumpJumper #1  

BustedKnuckles

Tractor
Kubota L3400
I am a eager but consummate newbie.
I bought an old 5' KingKutter rotary cutter which is my first renovation project. It's full of rust and needs a complete disassembly.
I used penetrating oil and lots of hammer blows to all parts and after the requisite waiting and finger smashing, I removed all pieces except one critical area, the stump jumper/blade holder assembly.
The manual shows a number of things attached to the shaft output (including bearing and bearing race outputs, and various seals etc.) The shaft has 12 splines and will not disengage, therefore I can't remove the gear housing from the otherside or the blade assembly from underneath.
Are there any lock mechanisms involved or is the unit simply rusted in place. Sledgehammer doesn't budge it.
I thought the pan was supposed to simply come off.
Am I missing something?
As I said this is my first entry to this addictive tractor world and would appreciate any thoughts shared.

/ Stumped on StumpJumper #2  
Don't know about Kingkutter, but Landpride is real helpful when calling them. Try giving the company a call and ask one of their peopel. I bet they will be very helpful.

Eddie

/ Stumped on StumpJumper #3  
I have a 7' KingKutter and I've had the stump jumper off. Had the bolts that holds the gear box to the deck get loose and couldn't reach the bolt heads (to tighten) without removing the stump jumper.

I didn't have any problem removing it but the machine was only 2 years old. And the nut that holds the SJ on was never tightened proper when new. So I lucked out so to speak.