newbie advice if you have any

/ newbie advice if you have any #1  

rsmith02184

Silver Member
Tractor
JD 4100
hi

new to the country life. bought a 2000 JD 4100 with FEL with 320 hours. have put on about 150 hours since i bought it.

i use it to mow, move driveway gravel. this summer i put in an inground pool and used it for backfilling and other moving projects.

since i am new to tractors, i have no "base" to decide if my tractor is running well. i am beginning to think it is running "rough".

it spits black smoke when it starts and sometimes i see that black smoke when it is under a load.

i wanted to move some dirt from a pile that had sat exposed for a few months and when i drove into it and attempted to lift, the engine bogged down. i had to move out of the pile and lift less dirt, in order for the engine to keep running.

i have change the oil regulary and i did the normal pre-500 hour maintenance when i bought it.

i have had only 2 problems with the tractor. one: i noticed hydraulic fluid coming out of the quick connects on the FEL. i don't know how to fix this problem so i have done nothing.

and two: i dropped a small plastic cap from my diesel stabilizer fluid into the fuel tank and i couldn't get it out. i used the tractor many times after that and everytime the cap moved over the fuel pick-up, it shut the engine off. I finally got the cap out and it runs fine. I just don't know if I might have thrown off the timing or messed up the injectors.

so, here is my question: i love my tractor and paid more money than i thought i was going to. i want it to last a long time.

do you have any advice on how to upkeep the tractor or do you have any concerns about what i said at the beginning of this post?

thanks from indiana

/ newbie advice if you have any #2  
I am no expert, but...

1. Some black smoke on startup and a little when under a heavy load is normal. Now, if it is billowing out clouds continuously, then you have a problem.