Bogging down

/ Bogging down #1  

ford351c

I am new to Diesel motors and need help with a problem. I have a Ford 1210, 4x4, hydrostatic with a 60" belly mower. (I think the 60" is a little much for my tractor) At times the RPM's will start to drop and I have to slow down when mowing. Sometimes I have to stop completly and the RPM's will still stay down around 1000 even with the clutch pushed in. Then after a short period of time (anywhere from 30 sec to 1.5 minutes) the PRM's will start to increase. Right back up to were they should be. Then it will run fine for 5 - 10 minutes and it happens again. It only seems to start happening after 30-45 minutes of mowing. (of which it works fine the entire time) If it starts happening, I can park the tractor and let it cool down. Then it will be fine until after 30-45 minutes. It seems to start when the engine is at operating temperature and I make a turn. HELP........................ /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif

/ Bogging down #2  
Sounds like a fuel delivery problem to me.

(If there was lots of black smoke.. I'd look at air. )

Soundguy

/ Bogging down
No smoke, I have drained and replaced the fuel

/ Bogging down #4  
I have the same symptoms with a Kubota BX1500. I KNOW it is a fuel problem. It has been sensitive to fuel since it was new, altho its L2550 big brother drinks anythng with macho qusto. I think it has to do with water in a filter. I scrupulously treat the BX fuel but still have trouble ocassionaly. I posit the following:
1. Even emulsified water in treated fuel can be caught in a filter.
2. As the filter wets it resists fuel passage.
3. At high power/fuel demand the pleating of the filter sucks shut decreasing filter area.
4. Engine bogs, fuel demand decreases with rpm and when load is removed fast idle is regained, but no power.
5. Shutdown allows filter to expand to original shape and some water migrates out alleviating the problem until the whole thing starts over.