Pay for work not done? part two

/ Pay for work not done? part two #1  

Doc_Bob

Elite Member
Tractor
2003 NH TN70A
Old thread Pay for work not done?

http://www.tractorbynet.com/forums/parts-repairs/85083-pay-work-not-done.html?highlight=work

I stopped payment for work done on my tractor by a dealer in Texas. The only thing I thought the dealer had done successfully was swap a vertical exhaust for a horizontal exhaust. Boy was I wrong!

I bent the exhaust pipe (http://www.tractorbynet.com/forums/parts-repairs/89886-bent-exhaust-pipe.html) I assumed that it was my entire fault. I am new to tractors, and I assumed while bush hogging, I snagged a small stump which bent the exhaust pipe. I logged onto www.messicks.com and looked up the exhaust pipe to order it. I called Messicks to confirm that I had the right part. One thing I noticed was that I had a bracket that supported the horizontal part of the exhaust, but I could not find this bracket on www.messicks.com website. In fact, there was no bracket required by the engineers at NH. The dealer in Texas fabricated the 4 inch bracket to get the horizontal exhaust to fit on the tractor. So, I originally thought NH had designed a crummy system for the horizontal exhaust which resulted in the exhaust pipe being snagged and bent. Nope, was not that way at all. It was the Texas dealer who lowered the horizontal exhaust 4 inches closer to the ground which set this story in motion. The horizontal exhaust should have been secured directly to the left side step, up out of harms way. Instead, do to the Texas dealer making a (cobbling??) the 4 inch extension, the tip of the exhaust was in harms way (4 inches closer to the ground), with a bent exhaust being the result. Here are some photos. You can see the home made bracket lowering the tip of the exhaust 4 inches closer to the ground and then you have a picture of the bracket, with holes drilled crudely into the bracket. Cripes! The end result is that the dealer did nothing as p