Post Hole Digger???

/ Post Hole Digger??? #1  

gotago

Tractor
PT425
Anyone used the post hole digger? I need to put up quite a bit of fence and am considering the post hole digger with the 6" and 12" auger. Before I go blowing the money has anyone used these?As long as I am going to PT in Virginia was also thinking about the cement mixer and and rake. Just noticed the new grapple and finally a thumb on the pt website. Hope all of you have a great Christmas....I'm praying for more snow...the PT did a great job on the 9" we had a week or so ago.

/ Post Hole Digger??? #2  
I have a 1430 with the phd and both 6 and 12" augers. Have used them considerably for small holes for shrubs and plants but when it comes to post holes for fencing there are other factors to consider. What is the soil like and how deep will you want to go. My soil is so rocky that I have had limited success with the phd and invariably have to pull out the mini hoe to make the holes. I have pulled out basketball size or larger rocks from what had started out as a 12" hole. Needless to say - our garden posts, only 16, which are 3' deep are for the most part done with the hoe. I was probably only able to plant 3 or 4 in holes dug solely with the phd. However, that said, it is a good tool. I dug holes for 50 hedge plants in a short time and also did 100 plus bulb holes on a hillside in a half hour which would have taken quite some time by hand. I do love the tool but it is not wholly compatible with our soil.

/ Post Hole Digger??? #3  
Jim, I have the phd and 6-inch auger. Works great in our sandy soil. You can see a few photos on a thread entitled "Cold day at the Beach". I think that you will be quite pleased with this tool.

/ Post Hole Digger??? #4