Auger Question

/ Auger Question #1  

bmac

Veteran Member
Tractor
NH TC29D
I surely don't want to dominate this forum, but its been kind of slow this weekend, so I'll pose another question.

I'll preface the question with a short story so you'll then understand why I'm asking it. My father-in-law has an older (~15 year old) Ford tractor. Don't know the model, but it has a 16 or 18 HP diesel engine and is compact in size. One day some time ago, he was using his post hole digger. The auger got a good bite on the clay and subsequently drilled into the ground, lifting the fron end of the tractor off the ground. I can't remember how he resolved his dilema, but as the auger is driven by the PTO, he couldn't put it in reverse to unscrew it.

So, that leads up to my question. Is the hydraulic motor on the PT auger reversible? I know that everone here knows by now that I have no tractor experience so p[lease excuse this question if it is too absurd. But I seem to recall a thread in another section where Wroughtn Harv or someone else described the advantages of a hydraulic post hole digger on his skid steer and reversibility of the auger was one of the advantages (in addition to the ability to apply down pressure).

Not knowing the first thing about hydraulics, this question may be completely off base. I apologize in advance if it is.

/ Auger Question #2  
That's a good question. I never asked it either. I'm waiting for someone to respond. Also, I'll add to the question, which PTO does it run from? The main that is controlled by the switch on the dash or the auxiliary, which is controlled by the lever in front of your right knee? The aux would make sense as it is reversible with the lever, but I don't know if it has the uumph to drive a motor. If it is the mian PTO the only way I could see to reverse it would be to either install a cross over valve or manually swap the hoses. So which is it? I'm excited /w3tcompact/icons/laugh.gif

/ Auger Question #3