Thoughts on converting lawn tractor snow blower to PT422

/ Thoughts on converting lawn tractor snow blower to PT422 #1  

KMA

Gold Member
Tractor
PT422 w/ EH72FI engine swap
I was knocking around the idea of putting a snowblower on my PT428 (PT422 w/ Robin EH72 FI swap). The price of the PT attachment new ($3200) is way too high for me. What do you guys think about about picking up a used 48" lawn/garden tractor snowblower attachment on craig's list and adapting it to my PT? I'm thinking I would have to mount an attachment plate, pull of the belt drive pulley and mounting a love joy connector (or similar), then weld up a mount for a hydraulic motor. There are also some PTO drive versions floating around may be a better choice to start with. (?)

Is this a crazy idea? I've seen used blowers locally for as low as $100. If I could do the whole thing for around $500 I might give it a try. I'm a rookie welder, but this project wouldn't have to look pretty... Having a large blower to clear my 400 ft stone driveway would be very nice. :)

Looking forward to some input from the forum. Thanks!

/ Thoughts on converting lawn tractor snow blower to PT422 #2  
I was thinking about doing the same thing as I mentioned in another thread. I went to a local tractor junk yard and found many single stage units but not too many two stage units. I would only do a two stage unit. I did find one two stage unit, 48" wide, never used but left outside for many years off of a Bolens (I believe). I think they wanted several hundred dollars. I passed. I may go back if I get the funds and offer them 200.

It was a belt drive unit. I could remove the drive pulleys and find a lovejoy to fit the shaft and connect it to the motor from my brush hog. I think that would work. I suppose I should research the RPM of the original blower and see if my brush hog motor is near or if I would need higher speed motor.