Questions on PT2445... considering buying a used one!

/ Questions on PT2445... considering buying a used one! #1  

cmedwards

Tractor
PT-2445
Hi All,

I'm new to this forum... but I did own a PT422 some 20 years ago... so guess I can't claim that I'm a newbie to Power Trac. Sold that tractor probably 10-12 years , but now I'm needing something that can lift 2000 lb occasionally, and will handle other tasks like trenching and drilling. I've pretty well narrowed things down to either a wheel loader or a skid steer.. and of course budget is a limiting factor. Last week I happened to notice a PT 2445 listed on the PT website (yea, their website is down again...), and I've almost talked myself into purchasing it because of the price / with accessories (it's a 2001 vintage machine). But before I pulled the trigger thought I would ask any current owners their opinions on a few things that still concern me. I have just spoken with Terry.. and he's really suggesting that a 1445 or 1460 would be a better fit ( I don't really need the BH, but it will come in handy a few times I'm sure...present owner actually has had it off for the last several years). This tractor is really tempting mostly because of the price... but I keep telling myself to focus more on "can this machine do what I need", because no doubt there will be some repairs and it's a lot of work to arrange delivery, check out all, etc.

Anyway... my questions are:

1) Does anyone have experience with the hydraulic systems holding up under really hot (100 degree + F) desert conditions? (moving to high desert area outside Palm Springs, CA in a year or so..) It's not always that hot there.... and won't be doing mowing...but thought I'd ask since most PTs seem to be in moderate climates.