Replaced my Robin 25 HP Because I wanted to be on of the boys...

/ Replaced my Robin 25 HP Because I wanted to be on of the boys... #1  

pequeajim

Platinum Member
Tractor
Power Trac 425
Replaced my Robin 25 HP Because I wanted to be one of the boys...

After a fair amount of reading on here about the 28 hp EFI engine and seeing the it was pretty much a painless swap out, I decided to replace my Robin 25 hp that came with my 425 with a new Robin fuel injected 28 hp engine. I was hoping for two things, 1. easier starting in cold weather and 2. a few more hp that would enable me to mow easier on the slopes in my south-central PA yard.

I spent a little time on the phone, (ok, more than a little...), with Kent and then called my local dealer Wes Stauffer Equipment LLC in Ephrata, PA to place the order. Wes is a great guy and I have been buying parts from hims for the past 5-6 years. Always gives me a great deal.

I ordered the version with the larger crankshaft to match the 25HP engine, labeled "AB Normal" in the 425, and it was... Robin makes two versions, the 1-7/16 crankshaft version is the one I ordered which is a direct match. This meant that the geared coupling could be reused from the old engine and Wes would cut the shaft to length and mount it for me. Since I don't have a portable metal Bandsaw, I took him up on it.

I also ordered the Robin muffler kit, heavier version for $179.00, some heavy duty fuel line and 1-SS flexible exhaust.

We pulled the existing "AB Normal" engine out and took it to Wes. A week later he had my new engine ready to go. My brother in law, nephew and I took the truck over there and picked up the engine.

20170128_102114_HDR.jpg20170128_104605_HDR.jpg

Last edited:
   / Replaced my Robin 25 HP Because I wanted to be on of the boys...
Re: Replaced my Robin 25 HP Because I wanted to be one of the boys...

We carried the engine into my shop, (you guys remember when I built that, and place it on a work table.

20170128_105605_HDR (1).jpg