Traction Hydraulic wheel motor question

/ Hydraulic wheel motor question #1  

CreativeGuy

Bronze Member
Tractor
PowerTrac PT-425
Well, I managed to get Artie (PT425) stuck the other day. I was dumping some dirt and there was a really soft spot under the left front wheel. When I went to back up, the left front wheel dug itself into a hole and the right rear wheel came off the ground. I couldn't go forward as i was at the edge of an embankment. I'm new to hydraulic wheel motors so I don't understand why the right from wheel didn't turn when I tried to go in reverse. (the left wheel was spinning away) Is there some sort of traction control sending fluid to the wheel that has the least resistance?

I was abel to move forward enough to get out of the hole which I filled with gravel and then dug out the excess earth on the right side.

Guess I have to start working on getting a degree in fluid dynamics.

Cheers and thanks in advance for your responses.

Steve

/ Hydraulic wheel motor question #2  
It has a differential. It's supposed to work that way. The wheel with the least traction spins. If you have a locking differential, then both wheels try to pull equally regardless of traction.

/ Hydraulic wheel motor question #3  
The one with the least traction will slip but the opposite corner will get that flow so there is some torque loss, but you still have torque on the other wheels. I have found that when I get stuck if I turn the steering when left and right the side walls will get some extra traction and sometimes I can get out. It kinda walks out when I do this. Mostly use for going up hills that are too steep for motor torque. Try it and see. Couldn稚 hurt. There is no differential in this hydraulic tractor.

/ Hydraulic wheel motor question #4  
It has a differential. It's supposed to work that way. The wheel with the least traction spins. If you have a locking differential, then both wheels try to pull equally regardless of traction.