Newbie here!

/ Newbie here! #1  

ddonnell

Silver Member
Hello everyone,

My name is Dave and I am new to your forum. I happened to be noodling around a week or so ago and happened across the PT forum and immediately became intrigued by these machines. I apologize for the length of this first post but I have a number of questions that I'm sure you all could shed some light on. I've read many of the other threads here and I apologize if I'm asking some of the same questions previously asked and answered but here goes anyway.

A little background to start with. I own about 8 acres of flat (and I do mean flat) land in Ohio. Of that, I finish mow about 3 acres and the rest is wooded. The woods is full of undergrowth that I have always threatened to clear out so as to have more of a "park" setting. My wife has show dogs so I also maintain a 60' x 60' "kennel corral" of #9 crushed stone (this involves some periodic grading and addition of stone). And then there is the 1/4 mile paved drive that requires snow removal. Other than this, just the normal (or maybe abnormal) "what can I do with my tractor today?" kind of projects.

I presently have an '05 Simplicity Legacy XL 4x4 hydro subcompact with the 27 horse B&S 3 cylinder diesel engine, 3pt., 540PTO. I have the 60" finish mower deck, the 500# rated FEL with 48" bucket, a Curtis 5' loader mounted hydraulic snow plow, 48" 3pt. tiller, and turbo vac leaf collection system. Also a tow behind broadcast spreader, aerator drop seeder-spreader and a few other odds and ends.

I love this machine and it has been great for the things I have done to this point. The FEL gets a little weak when fully loaded toward the top of its lift height, a problem that has garnered more than a few complaints from other Legacy owners, but other than that, no real complaints - just fun. Enter PT.