Backhoe Subframe for a backhoe - how to get one

/ Subframe for a backhoe - how to get one #1  

zkurtb

Bronze Member
Tractor
Kubota B7800
Hi all,
A newbie here, I've been reading the posts quite a bit since last summer, a great help in my tractor education. Many Thanks!

I've located a used Woods 7500 backhoe but it is a 3pt mount, does not have a subframe. I've read all the discussions on the importance of a subframe and am convinced. I'm wonder what is the best method to come up with a subframe. I've contacted the local Woods dealer who will check on availability and get back to me. I suppose the other option is fabrication. Any other ideas? By the way it will go on a Kubota L4200.

Thanks,
Kurt

/ Subframe for a backhoe - how to get one #2  
I bought a used Woods 7500 Backhoe that was set up for 3 point hitch use. Went to my local New Holland dealer (who also happens to be a Woods dealer) and had them order me a Woods "4 point Hitch" subframe to fit my NH tractor. They mounted it for me. Conversion from 3 point hitch to subframe was simple... they just unbolted some parts from the backhoe, and bolted on the part that mates to the subframe.

If Woods makes a subframe to fit your tractor, you should have no problem.

John Mc

/ Subframe for a backhoe - how to get one
Thanks for the info. Great find of the manuals on the Woods site.

Do backhoes typically come with both 3pt and subframe mounting points? Since the one I am considering is set up for 3pt, I wonder whether it will have the mount points to the subframe.

For the real naive question - when a backhoe is mounted on a subframe, since according to the Woods manual to mount the subframe to the tractor the 3pt lower lift arms (draw bars) are removed, how does it get lifted to hook to the tractor - are the upper lift arms of the 3pt somehow still used to do this?

/ Subframe for a backhoe - how to get one #5  
zkurtb said:
Thanks for the info. Great find of the manuals on the Woods site.